The roots of coincidence

The Roots of Coincidence: An Excursion into Parapsychology

Buy the roots of coincidence
Check Price on Amazon
Buy the roots of coincidence from Amazon.com

Description:

A discussion about what constitutes coincidence. Is it 'normal' that an occurence should happen more often statistics predict? What forces cause one to believe that a chance meeting is coincidence and not fate? The author takes great pains to show that learned, prestigious persons (e.g., Jung, Rhine, Kammerer, Eddington) have been delving into this research for centuries, often at great personal cost to their careers or images.


Buy the roots of coincidence from Amazon.com


Synchronicity: An Acausal Connecting Principle. (From Vol. 8. of the Collected Works of C. G. Jung) (Jung Extracts)

Buy the roots of coincidence
Check Price on Amazon
Buy the roots of coincidence from Amazon.com

Description:

Jung was intrigued from early in his career with coincidences, especially those surprising juxtapositions that scientific rationality could not adequately explain. He discussed these ideas with Albert Einstein before World War I, but first used the term "synchronicity" in a 1930 lecture, in reference to the unusual psychological insights generated from consulting the I Ching. A long correspondence and friendship with the Nobel Prize-winning physicist Wolfgang Pauli stimulated a final, mature statement of Jung's thinking on synchronicity, originally published in 1952 and reproduced here. Together with a wealth of historical and contemporary material, this essay describes an astrological experiment Jung conducted to test his theory. Synchronicity reveals the full extent of Jung's research into a wide range of psychic phenomena.


This paperback edition of Jung's classic work includes a new foreword by Sonu Shamdasani, Philemon Professor of Jung History at University College London.

Buy the roots of coincidence from Amazon.com
  • Used Book in Good Condition


Buy the roots of coincidence from Amazon.com


The Roots of Coincidence. With a postscript by Renee Haynes.

Buy the roots of coincidence
Check Price on Amazon
Buy the roots of coincidence from Amazon.com

Description:

In this volume, Koestler discusses various attempts to achieve a synthesis between the exact science of physics and man's intuitive intimations of deeper levels of reality--from the Renaissance philosopher Pico della Mirandola to Schopenhauer, Kammerer and Jung. The book ends with the author's own speculative contribution to this quest, and a plea for an open-minded approach, avoiding the opposite dangers of rigid materialism and superstitious credulity. From the dust cover.

Buy the roots of coincidence from Amazon.com


Roots Of Coincidence by Arthur Koestler (January 15,1974)

Buy the roots of coincidence
Check Price on Amazon
Buy the roots of coincidence from Amazon.com
Buy the roots of coincidence from Amazon.com


Hellblazer: The Roots of Coincidence

Buy the roots of coincidence
Check Price on Amazon
Buy the roots of coincidence from Amazon.com

Description:

John Constantine is an unconcerned, somewhat amoral occultist with a British working-class background. He's a hero of sorts, who manages to come out on top through a combination of luck, trickery, and genuine magical skill.

In this volume, Constantine must discover who has been manipulating events around him. But he must first understand his own relationship to the web of synchronicity that binds his life. To do so, he will tap into a source of terrifying and blasphemous power and what it reveals will change his life forever.


Buy the roots of coincidence from Amazon.com


The Astonishing Color of After

Buy the roots of coincidence
Check Price on Amazon
Buy the roots of coincidence from Amazon.com

Description:

"Emily X.R. Pan's brilliantly crafted, harrowing first novel portrays the vast spectrum of love and grief with heart-wrenching beauty and candor. This is a very special book."
--John Green, bestselling author of The Fault in Our Stars and Turtles All the Way Down

An instant New York Times bestseller, this stunning, heartbreaking novel about grief, love, and family is perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Celeste Ng.

Leigh Chen Sanders is absolutely certain about one thing: When her mother died by suicide, she turned into a bird.

Leigh, who is half Asian and half white, travels to Taiwan to meet her maternal grandparents for the first time. There, she is determined to find her mother, the bird. In her search, she winds up chasing after ghosts, uncovering family secrets, and forging a new relationship with her grandparents. And as she grieves, she must try to reconcile the fact that on the same day she kissed her best friend and longtime secret crush, Axel, her mother was taking her own life.

Alternating between reality and magic, past and present, hope and despair, The Astonishing Color of After is a luminous debut novel about finding oneself through family history, art, bravery, and love.

Buy the roots of coincidence from Amazon.com


Harry's Trees: A Novel

Buy the roots of coincidence
Check Price on Amazon
Buy the roots of coincidence from Amazon.com

Description:

When you climb a tree, the first thing you do is to hold on tight

Thirty-four-year-old Harry Crane works as an analyst for the US Forest Service. When his wife dies suddenly, he is unable to cope. Leaving his job and his old life behind, Harry makes his way to the remote woods of northeastern Pennsylvanias Endless Mountains, determined to lose himself. But fate intervenes in the form of a fiercely determined young girl named Oriana. She and her mother, Amanda, are struggling to pick up the pieces from their own tragedyAmanda stoically holding it together while Oriana roams the forest searching for answers. And in Orianas magical, willful mind, she believes that Harry is the key to righting her world.

Now its time for Harry to let go

After taking up residence in the woods behind Amandas house, Harry reluctantly agrees to help Oriana in a ludicrous scheme to escape his tragic past. In so doing, the unlikeliest of elementsa wolf, a stash of gold coins, a fairy tale called The Grums Ledger and a wise old librarian named Olivecome together to create a golden adventure that will fulfill Orianas wildest dreams and open Harrys heart to a whole new life.

Harrys Trees is an uplifting story about the redeeming power of friendship and love and the magic to be found in lifes most surprising adventures.

Buy the roots of coincidence from Amazon.com


The Roots Of Coincidence

Buy the roots of coincidence
Check Price on Amazon
Buy the roots of coincidence from Amazon.com
Buy the roots of coincidence from Amazon.com


When Nietzsche Wept: A Novel Of Obsession (P.S.)

Buy the roots of coincidence
Check Price on Amazon
Buy the roots of coincidence from Amazon.com

Description:

"Magical." -Washington Post Book World

"The best dramatization of a great thinkers thought since Sartres The Freud Scenario." -Chicago Tribune

From renowned psychiatrist Irvin D. Yalom, acclaimed author of The Schopenhauer Cure and Loves Executioner, the international bestseller When Nietzsche Wept is a richly imagined tale of two brilliant and enigmatic men plumbing the depths of their psyches to discover the redemptive power of friendship.

Buy the roots of coincidence from Amazon.com
  • Harper Perennial
Buy the roots of coincidence from Amazon.com


Theodore Boone: The Fugitive

Buy the roots of coincidence
Check Price on Amazon
Buy the roots of coincidence from Amazon.com

Description:

"Not since Nancy Drew has a nosy, crime-obsessed kid been so hard to resist." The New York Times
 
Thirteen-year-old Theodore Boone thought the danger had passed, but hes about to face off against an old adversary: accused murderer and fugitive Pete Duffy. 

On a field trip to Washington, DC, Theo spots a familiar face on the Metro: Duffy, who jumped bail and was never seen again. Theos quick thinking helps bring Duffy back to Strattenburg to stand trial. But now that Duffy knows who he is, Theo is in greater danger than hes ever been in before. Even when everything is on the line, Theodore Boone will stop at nothing to make sure a killer is brought to justice.
 
This smart, fast-paced legal thriller for young readers is the newest adventure for clever and determined kid lawyer Theo Boone.

Buy the roots of coincidence from Amazon.com


The roots of coincidence

0 Comments about „The roots of coincidence

Leave a message

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are highlighted *